This is the "Home" page of the "Legal Resources at the library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal Resources at the library  

Last Updated: Dec 13, 2016 URL: http://spscc.libguides.com/paralegal Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Sources of Law

Constitutional Law

 Statutory Law

Manifestation of legislative power by Congress (Federal), State Legislatures and local legislative bodies. Federal statutes are found in the U.S. Code.  Washington State statutes are found in the RCWs.  Local ordincances are found in county and city codes.    

Regulations

Manifestation of executive power, regulations must be based on an enabling statute and be constitutional.  Regulations on the federal level are found in the Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.).  They are first published in the Federal Register.  Washington State regulations are found in the Washington Administrative Code (WAC).  They are first published in the State Register.  Local regulations are found in local county codes.  Generally, they are first published in a newspaper designated by the local legislative authority.  

Case Law

Manifestations of judicial power reflected in reported decisions by federal and state courts.  The federal courts consist of: specialized courts (e.g. bankruptcy, tax); U.S. District Courts, U.S. Circuit Courts of Appeal; U.S. Supreme Court. Washington State Courts include: courts of limited jurisidction (e.g. small claims, local disctrict court); Courts of Appeals; and the State Supreme Court.

 

Welcome!

Welcome to legal research! SPSCC Library has physical books as well as digital books (ebooks) and online databases that students may use.

Legal databases:

  • Lexis Advance - Available only for students in the paralegal program. If you are a SPSCC paralegal student, contact your professor to request access to this legal database.
  • LexisNexis Academic - Find legal news, company & industry information, and current news (includes newspaper, radio, and TV transcripts). Available for all SPSCC students, staff, and faculty. If you are off campus, you will need to login with your SPSCC email account.
  • Legal Collection (EBSCO) - Find articles in scholarly law journals. Available for all SPSCC students, staff, and faculty. If you are off campus, you will need to login with your SPSCC email account.

Ebook databases:

 

Primo One Search - Search for books, articles, videos, and other online resources in many of our databases and our library catalog using just one search.

 

General Legal Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

West's Encyclopedia of American Law

The most recent volume is located in the reference section.  Call number: Ref KF154.W47 2004

 Black's Law Dictionary

The most recent edition is located in the reference section.  Call number: Ref KF156.B53 2009

A past edition is located in the main stacks for checkout.  Call number: KF156.B53 2004

 Corpus Juris Secundum

Call number: Ref KF154.C56


Librarian

Profile Image
Lily Kun
Contact Info
360.596.5436
Send Email
 

Live chat 24/7

Google Scholar

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip